Virus/attack Warning!

Let me know if there is anything you would like to see up here, or that needs corrections, or any complaints ya have... Also check here to see what has been updated to the site/forum lately

Moderators: ghiadreams, ih4x4

Virus/attack Warning!

Postby Bad Dog Racing » Wed Jan 20, 2010 8:56 am

Hi Friends,

I haven't visited this site in a while and out of the blue I got an email notifying me of a pm here. What I got was the following.....



From: LadyROOT
To: Bad Dog Racing
Posted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 3:59 am
Subject: Important message from the forum administration Quote message
Dear, Bad Dog Racing!

A virus alert was noticed on your computer.
We highly recommend you to check your computer and perform online virus check at our site immediately: *********.com/Bad Dog Racing
----------------------------------------------------
Sincerely, Forum Administration www.tracyvdubclub.com.




When I clicked on the link it took me to a warning page. Thanks to my antivirus software it warned me that opening that page would lead me to an attack site.
I got this warning.....



Reported Attack Site!



This web site at excavatevirustool.net has been reported as an attack site and has been blocked based on your security preferences.

Attack sites try to install programs that steal private information, use your computer to attack others, or damage your system.

Some attack sites intentionally distribute harmful software, but many are compromised without the knowledge or permission of their owners.






I have no idea who Lady ROOT is, but maybe the administrators should remove and block her from user status on this site.

Greg Urrutia
916-952-6568
Greg Urrutia
Race Director - NASA VW drag Racing Series
www.nasavwdragracing.com
www.gregsvw.com
Bad Dog Racing
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 1:25 pm
Location: Sacramento

Postby ghiadreams » Wed Jan 20, 2010 10:47 am

Thanks Greg.....I also got a call from Chuck & we have banned this spammer from our site and changed their name to "I'm a SPAMMER do not open link" to hopefully avoid anyone from opening the link in the PM.

Please DO NOT OPEN ANY e-mail or PM from this person, just delete.

Sorry for this we do our best to monitor all posts, and occasionaly these slip thru before we can ban/delete them.
ghiadreams
Moderator
 
Posts: 309
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 10:59 am

Postby ih4x4 » Wed Jan 20, 2010 6:00 pm

the user has been banned and all there pm's have been deleted, the forum is now setup so that all new users need an admins approval before they can post or send pm's,

if anyone clicked on the link I would recommend making sure there antivirus is up to date and run a full scan on there computer, I would also run a spyware checker like the free one at www.spybot.info and I would change any passwords you used on your computer just incase it loaded a key logger,

chuck
(o\ ! /o)
1963 ragtop bug,
1962 vert
do you need vw parts?
I work part time selling parts at stockton bugformance
fletch@bugformancestockton.com
User avatar
ih4x4
Webmaster
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 10:59 pm
Location: stockton ca.


Return to Feedback & Updates

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron